DeRose-Hinkhouse Awards

2018 DeRose-Hinkhouse Awards

Entries closed

DeRose-Hinkhouse Award Categories

Awards dinner: Thursday, April 5, 2018 in Atlanta, Georgia

Coordinator: Ryan Koch, 125 Columbus Ave, 2nd floor; New York, NY 10023; 212-580-1919.

DeRose-Hinkhouse Best of Class statueThe DeRose-Hinkhouse Memorial Awards are given annually to active members of the Religion Communicators Council (RCC) who demonstrate excellence in religious communications and public relations.

The awards are named to honor the late Victor DeRose and the late Paul M. Hinkhouse, leading lithographers in New York City, and longtime friends of the RCC. Both men shared a strong interest in, and concern for, excellence in communications.

The longer I'm associated with RCC, the more I am floored by the competence and caliber of the professionals operating in this space. I encourage you to submit your work for the DeRose-Hinkhouse Memorial Awards, not only so that you can receive recognition for your hard work, but so that I, and the rest of the RCC board and membership, can be inspired and improve our own communications efforts!

Ryan John Koch~ Ryan John Koch

Coordinator of the 2018 DeRose-Hinkhouse Award

Director The New York Office of Public and International Affairs, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

DeRose-Hinkhouse Award Best of Class winners

From left to right: Thomas Murphy, Susan Engle, Amy Renshaw, Amethel Parel-Sewell, Matt Paolelli, Christie House, Steve Martin, Robin Yamakawa, Anuttama Dasa, Katherine Branch, Doug Puller

Photo by Alan Hatchett

Best of Class, 2017 DeRose-Hinkhouse Memorial Awards

The Awards Ceremony was held Thursday evening, March 30, 2017 at Crowne Plaza Chicago O'Hare, Chicago, Illinois. Shane Nichols presented the awards.

Winners list: 2017 DeRose-Hinkhouse Memorial Award Winners (for work completed in 2016) PDF file

News story: RCC awards excellence in religion communication at Chicago ceremony

Photos: 2017 DeRose-Hinkhouse Award photos on the RCC Flickr site

Christie House and Shane NicholsClass A — Periodicals

Best of Class to Christie R. House, General Board of Global Ministries, United Methodist Church, New World Outlook Magazine

Photo by George Conklin.

Susan Engle, Amy Renshaw, Amethel Parel-Sewell, Shane NicholsClass B — Periodicals Single Issue

Best of Class to Amethel Parel-Sewell, C. Aaron Kreader, Amy Renshaw, Susan Engle, Bahá’í National Center, Brilliant Star “Spirit of Adventure” issue

Photo by George Conklin.

Thomas Murphy and Shane NicholsClass C — Public Relations Materials

Best of Class to Thomas Murphy, James Humphrey, Richard Doering, Bahá’í National Center, Annual Report

Photo by George Conklin.

Robin Yamakawa, Katherine Branch, Shane NicholsClass D — Writing for Publication

Best of Class to Katherine Branch and Robin Yamakawa, Green Gate Marketing, Pathways Magazine

Photo by George Conklin.

Derek Schwabe, Doug Puller, Shane NicholsClass E — Specialized Writing

Best of Class to Todd Post, Derek Schwabe, Doug Puller, Bread for the World, 2017 Hunger Report: Fragile Environments, Resilient Communities

Photo by George Conklin.

Katherine Branch and Shane NicholsClass F — Graphic Design, Art & Photography

Best of Class to Katherine Branch, Green Gate Marketing, Pathways Magazine

Photo by George Conklin.

Anuttama Dasa and Shane NicholsClass G — Audio & Video, Broadcast, Non-broadcast & Cable

Best of Class to Anuttama Dasa, ISKCON Communications, The Joy of Devotion

Photo by George Conklin.

Class H — Public Relations/Advertising Campaign

Best of Class to Jeff Huett, Aaron Weaver, Carrie McGuffin, Candice Young, Travis Peterson, Cooperative Baptist Fellowship, Christ's love compels usCBF 25th Anniversary Campaign

Photo by George Conklin.

Steve Martin and Shane NicholsClass I — Digital Communications

Best of Class to Steven D. Martin, National Council of Churches, National Council of Churches Podcast

Photo by George Conklin.

Matt Paolelli and Shane NicholsClass J — Social Media

Best of Class to Meinrad Scherer-Emunds and Matt Paolelli, Catholic Extension, Camp Catholic

Photo by George Conklin.

Shoestring Award

Diane Degnan and team, United Methodist Communications, Praying Our Way Forward

Photo by George Conklin.

Previous DeRose-Hinkhouse Memorial Award Winners















powered by MemberClicks