2010 Wilbur Award Winners


The council has presented Wilbur Awards annually since 1949. They honor excellence by individuals in secular media – print and online journalism, book publishing, broadcasting, and motion pictures – in communicating religious issues, values and themes. Winners receive a stained-glass trophy. The award is named for the late Marvin C. Wilbur, a pioneer in religious public relations and longtime council leader.

Newspapers, feature story — "Young Muslims after 9/11," Peter Smith, The Courier Journal, Louisville, Ky.


Newspapers, series — "Faith in Motion," Mindy Rubenstein, St. Petersburg (Fla.) Times.


Newspapers, column — "Sunday Reflections," Tracey O’Shaughnessy, Republican-American, Waterbury, Conn.


Newspapers, blogs — "Under God," David Waters, The Washington Post.


Magazines, article — "The Rise of the Godless," Paul Starobin, National Journal.


Magazines, columns — Lisa Miller, Newsweek.


Editorial Cartoons — John Sherffius, Daily Camera, Boulder, Colo.


BooksHave A Little Faith, Mitch Albom, Hyperion.


Television, local news — "Shepherd Me Oh God," Randy Biery, photography, and Fran Riley, reporter, KWQC-TV, Davenport, Iowa.


Television, national newsCBS Evening News: Weekend Edition, "Peace on Earth," John Blackstone, correspondent; Erin Lyall George, producer; and Patricia Shevlin, executive producer.


Television, national news magazineReligion & Ethics Newsweekly, "Wintley Phipps," Kim Lawton, correspondent, Judy Reynolds, producer.


Television, documentary — "Science of the Soul," Associated Producers, Toronto, Canada, Simcha Jacobovici, writer/director.


Radio — "The Soundscapes of Faith," Laura Kwerel, writer/producer, Katie Davis, editor, Interfaith Voices, Brentwood, Md.


Film — "Blood Done Sign My Name," Paladin and Real Folk Productions, written and directed by Jeb Stuart.


Lifetime Achievement — Bob Abernethy.


[Read the full story]

powered by MemberClicks