14 secular media organizations win 2010 Wilbur Awards


Manya Brachear

Manya A. Brachear is master of ceremonies for the April 9 Wilbur Awards event.

Fourteen secular media organizations have earned 2010 Wilbur Awards from the Religion Communicators Council.


The council is presenting the awards April 9 during Religion Communication Congress 2010 at the Chicago Marriott Downtown Magnificent Mile. In addition, Bob Abernethy, longtime host of PBS' Religion & Ethics Newsweekly, is to receive a special Wilbur Award for contributions to public discussion of faith topics.


Manya A. Brachear, religion reporter for the Chicago Tribune and a double Wilbur Award winner in 2009, is master of ceremonies for the April 9 event.


The council has presented Wilbur Awards annually since 1949. They honor excellence by individuals in secular media – print and online journalism, book publishing, broadcasting, and motion pictures – in communicating religious issues, values and themes. Winners receive a stained-glass trophy and $250. The award is named for the late Marvin C. Wilbur, a pioneer in religious public relations and longtime council leader.


[Read list of 2010 Wilbur Award Winners (for work completed in 2009)]


Photos from the Wilbur Awards banquet, April 10, 2010

powered by MemberClicks