Buckner, "Presbyterians Today" big winners at RCC's DeRose-Hinkhouse Awards

By Jeff Huett, APR

DeRose-Hinkhouse Best of Class Winners (photo by George Conklin).

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (April 4, 2014) — Nearly a year into his work as editor of Presbyterians Today, Patrick Heery and his publication had a good night at the Religion Communicators Council's annual DeRose-HinkHouse Awards Thursday.

Heery, Jeffrey Lawrence and Mark Thomson of the Presbyterian Church U.S.A. won two awards for their work. They won Best of Class for Periodicals and Periodicals Single Issue for the September 2013 issue, War Beyond the Battlefield.

In accepting the Single Issue award, Heery said he was proud of the award because "putting a microphone before people who have not had a chance to speak" was a primary goal of his since taking the position at the magazine. Veterans and victims of violence are among those who found a voice in the award-winning issue, Heery said.

The annual DeRose-Hinkhouse Memorial Awards are given to active members of RCC who demonstrate excellence in religious communication and public relations.

The awards are named in honor of the late Victor DeRose and the late Paul M. Hinkhouse, leading lithographers in New York City, and long-time friends of the RCC. Both men shared a strong interest in, and concern for, excellence in communications.

DeRose-Hinkhouse Awards slideshow (photos by George Conklin and Jeff Huett).

This year RCC received 212 entries. Each entry was judged on overall quality, including concept, writing, design, creativity, style, use of color, appropriateness of material for intended audience, creative use of resources, and effectiveness in achieving its purpose. Faculty members from the Journalism and Mass Communications Department at Marshall University in Huntington, W.V., were responsible for judging the projects of religion communication professionals across the country.

The Marshall University School of Journalism and Mass Communications (SOJMC) department houses a Bachelor of Arts degree with seven majors and a graduate program accredited by the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communications. SOJMC alumni can be linked to US News and World Report, CNN, PBS and a Pulitzer Prize winning newspaper editor.

Marshall University is the fourth university to judge DeRose-Hinkhouse entries over the past six years. Eastern Illinois University, Belmont University, University of Chattanooga at Tennessee have evaluated entries in the past.

Best of Class Winners

For Public Relations Materials, James Rollins, Hal Sadler, Darcy Quigley, Brenda Carr and Leigh Rogers of the United Methodist Committee on Relief (UMCOR) won for their Annual Report 2012.

In the Writing for Publication category, Scott Collins of Buckner International won for A Wing and a Prayer. Bee Moorhead of the Texas Interfaith Center for Public Policy won in the Specialized Writing category for "Wondering about mental health coverage in the new health insurance marketplace?"

In the Graphic Design, Art & Photography, Mike DuBose of United Methodist Communications won for his work, Typhoon Haiyan.

Steve Horswill-Johnston and Carolyn Dandridge of the General Board of Discipleship won in the Audio and Video, Broadcast, Non-broadcast & Cable for his work, "Reflect, Reclaim, Rejoice: Preserving the Gift of Black Sacred Music."

In the Public Relations/Advertising Campaign category, Alan Paul, Russell Dilday, Scott Collins won for their work "A Legacy of Hope for Buckner International."

Beth A. Richardson of The Upper Room won in the Digital Communications category for the Alive Now, digital edition, and in the Social Media category, Jan Rizzo of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA) won for the Facebook Advent Campaign.

Photos and full list of recipients are posted on the DeRose-Hinkhouse Memorial Awards page.

Jeff Huett, APR, is a member of the RCC Board of Governors and Associate Coordinator of Communications and Advancement, Cooperative Baptist Fellowship, Atlanta, GA.

powered by MemberClicks