Wilbur Watch for 2017

The Wilbur Awards are presented by RCC to encourage excellence in the communication of religious faith and positive values through a variety of secular media. As a member of RCC you can help us make the Wilbur Awards a night to remember by participating in the Wilbur Watch.

Have you:

  • seen or heard a program or newscast on radio or TV,
  • read a book, viewed a television program,
  • read a national, regional, or special interest magazine, blog or newspaper

produced by the mainstream media that you feel exemplified outstanding presentation of religious values or positive messages?

If so, take a minute to contact the producer, writer or publisher and encourage them to enter the RCC Wilbur Awards for 2017 (for work completed in 2016). The entry brochure and forms are  online on the Wilbur Awards page.

Or use the release below to send to a contact. The news release is also online on the RCC site.

Entry period opens for 2017 Wilbur Awards

Religion Communicators Council to accept submissions until Feb. 6.

Wilbur Award trophyThe Religion Communicators Council (RCC) is accepting entries for the 2017 Wilbur Awards. Secular communicators have until Feb. 6, 2017 to submit work produced during 2016 for consideration in one of the oldest recognition programs in religion communication.

The council has presented Wilbur Awards annually since 1949. They honor excellence by individuals in secular media – print and online journalism, book publishing, broadcasting, and motion pictures – in communicating religious issues, positive values and themes.

Winners in 2016 represented: Multimedia, CNN’s John Blake; CBS News Sunday Morning, Jane Pauley; Religion Dispatches, Jacob J. Erickson; Pittsburgh Tribune-Review, Betsy Hiel; The Associated Press, Didi Tang; HarperOne; Vanity Fair Magazine; CBS Television News; Religion News Service as well as motion picture producers, bloggers, and book authors.

The 2017 awards will be presented April 1 in Chicago, IL, during the council’s national convention. Winners receive a handcrafted stained-glass trophy and national recognition for their work.

Secular communicators may enter work in seven categories. Juries of media professionals coordinated by Religion Communication Council members across the country evaluate submissions on content, creativity, impact and excellence in communicating religious values.

The award is named for the late Marvin C. Wilbur, a pioneer in religious public relations and longtime council leader. For more information on the Wilbur competition or entry details, go to the Wilbur Awards page on the RCC web site.

About the Religion Communicators Council

RCC logoThe Religion Communicators Council is an interfaith association of more than 400 religion communicators working in print and electronic communication, advertising, and public relations. Members represent Bahá’í, Christian, Hindu, Jewish and Muslim faith communities. Founded in 1929, the council is the oldest public relations professional association in the United States.

Questions? Contact Shirley Struchen, [email protected] or 212-870-2402.

powered by MemberClicks