RCC awards excellence in religion communication at Chicago ceremony

By Jeff Huett, APR

CHICAGO (March 30, 2017) — The Religion Communicators Council handed out awards recognizing excellence in about 60 categories of communications and public relations Thursday at its annual conference in Chicago.

The annual DeRose-Hinkhouse Memorial Awards, given to active members of RCC, are named in honor of the late Victor DeRose and the late Paul M. Hinkhouse, leading lithographers in New York City, and longtime friends of the RCC. Both men shared a strong interest in, and concern for, excellence in communications.

This year RCC received 231 entries. Each entry was judged on overall quality, including concept, writing, design, creativity, style, use of color, appropriateness of material for intended audience, creative use of resources, and effectiveness in achieving its purpose.

This year’s panel of judges included faculty members from Chicago’s Roosevelt University, Evanston’s Northwestern University, and New York’s St. John’s University, as well as individual communications professionals from both secular and religious organizations.

DeRose-Hinkhouse Award Best of Class winners

From left to right: Thomas Murphy, Susan Engle, Amy Renshaw, Amethel Parel-Sewell, Matt Paolelli, Christie House, Steve Martin, Robin Yamakawa, Anuttama Dasa, Katherine Branch, Doug Puller

Photo by Alan Hatchett

2017 DeRose-Hinkhouse Awards Best of Class

In the Periodicals category, Christie R. House of General Board of Global Ministries won for New World Outlook Magazine.

In the Periodicals, single issue category, Amethel Parel-Sewell, C. Aaron Kreader, Amy Renshaw and Susan Engle of the Bahá’í National Center won for Brilliant Star “Spirit of Adventure” Issue.

In the Public Relations Material category, Thomas Murphy, James Humphrey and Richard Doering of the Bahá’í National Center won for Annual Report.

In the Writing for Publication category, Katherine Branch of Green Gate Marketing won for Pathways Magazine.

In the Specialized Writing category, Todd Post, Derek Schwabe and Doug Puller of Bread for the World won for 2017 Hunger Report: Fragile Environments, Resilient Communities.

In the Grapic Design, Art and Photograpy category, Katherine Branch of Green Gate Marketing won for Pathways Magazine.

In the Audio & Video, Broadcast, Non-broadcast & Cable category, Anuttama Dasa of ISKCON Communications won for The Joy of Devotion.

In the Public Relations/Advertising Campaign category, Jeff Huett, Aaron Weaver, Carrie McGuffin, Candice Young and Travis Peterson of the Cooperative Baptist Fellowship won for Christ's Love Compels Us – CBF 25th Anniversary Campaign.

In the Digital Communications category, Steven D. Martin of the National Council of Churches won for National Council of Churches Podcast.

In the Social Media category, Meinrad Scherer-Emunds and Matt Paolelli of Catholic Extension won for Camp Catholic.

The 2017 Shoestring Award was won by Diane Degnan of United Methodist Communications for Praying Our Way Forward.

A full list of recipients is posted on the DeRose-Hinkhouse Memorial Awards page.

powered by MemberClicks