RCC awards excellence in religion communication at D.C.-area ceremony

By Jeff Huett, APR

ALEXANDRIA, Va. (April 10) — The Religion Communicators Council handed out awards recognizing excellence in more than 50 categories of communications and public relations Friday at its annual conference just outside of Washington, D.C.

The annual DeRose-Hinkhouse Memorial Awards, given to active members of RCC, are named in honor of the late Victor DeRose and the late Paul M. Hinkhouse, leading lithographers in New York City, and longtime friends of the RCC. Both men shared a strong interest in, and concern for, excellence in communications.

This year RCC received 214 entries. Each entry was judged on overall quality, including concept, writing, design, creativity, style, use of color, appropriateness of material for intended audience, creative use of resources, and effectiveness in achieving its purpose.

For the second year in a row, faculty members from the Journalism and Mass Communications Department at Marshall University in Huntington, W.V., were responsible for judging the projects of religion communication professionals across the country.

The Marshall University School of Journalism and Mass Communications (SOJMC) department houses a Bachelor of Arts degree with seven majors and a graduate program accredited by the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communications. SOJMC alumni can be linked to US News and World Report, CNN, PBS and a Pulitzer Prize newspaper editor.

Marshall University is the fourth university to judge DeRose-Hinkhouse entries over the past seven years. Eastern Illinois University, Belmont University, University of Chattanooga at Tennessee have evaluated entries in the past.

Best of Class 2015

In the Periodicals category, Tara Barnes and Yvette Moore of United Methodist Women won for response magazine.

In the Periodicals Single Issue category, Mary Andreolli of the North Carolina Conference of the United Methodist Church won for Every Day Grace Magazine.

For Public Relations Materials, Philip Poole and Janica York Carter of Samford University won for Samford’s 2013-2014 Annual Report.

In the Writing for Publication category, Linda Simmons Hight and Thomas G Whittle of Freedom Magazine, Church of Scientology International, won for "Human Trafficking 2 part series: Out of the Shadows - 21st Century Slavery in America & The Price of Human Life."

For Specialized Writing, Todd Post, Derek Schwabe, Michele Learner and Doug Puller of Bread for the World won for the 2015 Hunger Report: When Women Flourish…We Can End Hunger.

In Graphic Design, Art & Photography, of Quentin Michel, Freedom Magazine, Church of Scientology International won for "The Expansion Issue" cover, Freedom Special Edition, December 2014.

In the Audio & Video, Broadcast, Non-broadcast & Cable category, Kari Carlson and Dr. Mary Nelson of the Bahá'í National Center & Parliament of the World’s Religions won for Heart of Faith.

In the Public Relations/Advertising Campaign category, Margaret Boone and Sam Locke of the Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) won for 2014 Special Offerings Campaign.

In Digital Communications, Poonam Patodia, Kay Panovec, Danny Mai, Fran Walsh, Sheila Mayfield, Lane Denson, Cindy Caldwell and Laurens Glass of United Methodist Communications won for the denominational web site for The United Methodist Church.

In Social Media, Myca Alford and Poonam Patodia of United Methodist Communications won for Imagine No Malaria - Advent 2015 Campaign.

A full list of recipients is posted on the DeRose-Hinkhouse Memorial Awards page.

powered by MemberClicks